Awards night brings 64th season to a close

Guards Polo Club hosted its annual Chairman’s Awards Evening on Saturday night, the penultimate day of the 2019 season. The Clubhouse was packed with patrons, players, members and friends to celebrate an incredible season. There was plenty to celebrate, not least the number of matches. Brian Stein revealed that the Club had played 579 games this year.

In addition to a fabulous Mosimann’s menu, plenty of Laurent-Perrier Champagne, pre-dinner entertainment from a steel band, courtesy of George Hope, and post-dinner dancing to Soul Patrol, sponsored by Alejandro Penafiel, several players headed home with the Club’s coveted awards.

Brian Stein presented the following awards:

  • · Most Useful Umpire: Leon Allen
  • · Most Improved Player: Heiko Voelker
  • · Best Handicapped Player: Pedro Harrison
  • · Best Professional Player: Will Emerson
  • · Employees of the Year: The Grounds Staff headed by Peter Svoboda
  • · Outstanding Contribution to Club Life: Social member June Howell Jones
  • · Talacrest Young Player of the Year - with John Collins: William Harper
  • · Team of the Year (pictured above): Mindy Byrne and her Tex8n Polo Team

Back to Posts
  • cartier noir logo to use.png
  • Out-Sourcing logo.png
  • new Talacrest logo to use July 2021 low res.jpg
  • new access bank logo from f2019.jpg
  • la martina.png
  • CPB Logo - Gold.png
  • Hildon_logo_silver_crown_large correct to use 2020 low res.png
  • Clinova Logo .png
  • mosimann.png
  • Logo Laurent-Perrier Rund new for 2019.jpg
  • truefitt and hill logo.jpeg
  • Martin Collins logo lr for website.png
  • Fifth Chukker logo.jpg
  • images of polo.png
  • polocam small for website.png
  • Polo Times.jpg
  • Clara
  • LGM logo.jpg